Paintbrush in Hand, Cat Hair in Paint, Total Mess on Canvas

Back, Belatedly, With a Fuzzy Apple (Still) in Progress

That part where I said that being back at work after the holidays is not remotely conducive to blogging? Yeah, that. Oh well. I will do better from here on in! Or out, whatever the phrase is. Hmm, am I still even allowed to tag this “postaday2011” given that I have failed so dismally at this pathetically early stage in the proceedings?

But anyway… where was I? Oh yeah. I posted my attempt at painting an apple a week or so back, and mentioned that I was scared to do anything else to it as at least it vaguely resembled a (grey and white) apple at that point. But then over the weekend I thought “what the hell” and decided to try to make it, y’know… apple-colored. At this point I realized that the orangey burnt sienna background I’d already painted on there was going to result in an invisible apple if I wasn’t careful, so I slapped a load of white over it just so I’d be able to see what I was doing without losing the apple while painting! Then glooped a load of reds and orangey colors onto the canvas, with the result you see below. Then I thought I’d use up some green paint that was sitting on my palette to redo the background yet again… this is the reason for the fuzzy area around the edges of the apple. I need to paint over it yet again in a few days, this time getting rid of that fuzzy edge… and, of course, finally giving the poor apple a shadow to stop it floating in minty-green space.

Well… it looks kinda appley, doesn’t it? Just a bit… flat. And that light reflection is awful, I will have to fix that!

3 responses

  1. It can’t be THAT bad if I have the sudden urge to take a big bite out of it! Because I do. Now if you would be so kind as to just paint me a little spoonful of creamy peanut butter next to it, I’d appreciate it very much : )

    January 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  2. I think it’s a damn fine apple! I love it! You go girl! Just go for it! Give someone else your self-doubt to hold while you’re painting. : )

    January 15, 2011 at 8:47 pm

  3. I think U made that apple pop by keeping it warm and sticking it on a cool background. I think some yellow on the light area of the apple and possibly a bit of a shadow to anchor it.U show lots of promise… I like it!

    January 23, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Leave a Reply

